Affiliated Researchers


Anja Arnhold

Assistant Professor, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: prosody, phonetics, phonology, Inuit and Uralic languages

arnhold@ualberta.ca


Daniel Aalto

Assistant Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Scientist, Institute for Reconstructive Sciences in Medicine

Research interests: computer modelling of speech, swallowing, and chewing; functional impact of head and neck surgery; digital surgical design and planning

aalto@ualberta.ca


Jaimie Baron

Associate Professor, Film Studies, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: film and media theory, audiovisual appropriation, experimental film and video, documentary film and video, historiography, ethics, the history of technology and the mediation of human experience, digital media, critical race studies, media and criminal justice, media as a form of ventriloquism

jaimie.baron@ualberta.ca


Erin Bayne

Professor, Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science

Research interests: bioacoustics; avian ecology; environmental impact assessment; sound triangulation; deep learning; automated birdsong identification

bayne@ualberta.ca


Carol Boliek

Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research interests: speech motor control, development, speech physiology, neuroplasticity, motor speech disorders, transcranial direct current stimulation, intermuscular coherence

carol.boliek@ualberta.ca


Vadim Bulitko

Professor, Computing Science, Faculty of Science

Research interests: cognitive processes and models in humans, animals and computers; real-time heuristic search

bulitko@ualberta.ca


Corjan Buma

Adjunct / Laboratory Manager, Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Research interests: architectural acoustics, acoustic engineering, noise

meanu@ualberta.ca


Julia Byl

Assistant Professor, Music, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: ethnomusicology, sound in the archive, the individual and the institution, ephemerality of performance, sonic magic in Southeast Asia, sound in poetry, genre mixing

meanu@ualberta.ca


Jason Carey

Professor, Associate Dean (Programs and Planning)
Faculty of Engineering

Research interests: vibrations and acoustics of advanced materials; biomechanics of airway soft tissues

jason.carey@ualberta.ca


Liz Czach

Associate Professor, Department of English and Film Studies, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: vibrations and acoustics of advanced materials; biomechanics of airway soft tissues

liz.czach@ualberta.ca


Astrid Ensslin

Professor, Digital Humanities; Modern Languages and Cultural Studies, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: language in gaming, speech accents in games (SAG), literary gaming, digital fictions and digital narratives, digital feminisms, communication and media discourse

ensslin@ualberta.ca


Laurier Fagnan

Professor, Music, Campus Saint-Jean

Research interests: vocal and choral acoustics, acoustic analysis of singing, Bel Canto vocal pedagogy, vocology, speaking voice production, choral conducting

lfagnan@ualberta.ca


Brian Fauteux

Assistant Professor, Popular Music and Media Studies, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: popular music studies, sound studies, music radio, music and media industries, music scenes, campus radio, cultural policy, media history

fauteux@ualberta.ca


Michael Frishkopf

Professor, Music, Faculty of Arts
Adjunct Professor, Religious Studies
Adjunct Professor, Division of Community Engagement, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry

Research interests: ethnomusicology, (virtual [world) music], sonic architecture, music and religion, digital repositories, deep learning for sound recognition, social network analysis

michaelf@ualberta.ca


Christine Guptill

Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research interests: musicians’ health and well-being, prevention of work disability in performing artists through education at tertiary and professional levels, social determinants of heath and their impact on performing artists (including education, income, benefits, gender, and working conditions)

guptill@ualberta.ca


Bill Hodgetts

Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine

Research interests: technology, psychology, and public awareness around hearing aids and services, bone conduction hearing aids, non-auditory factors in auditory treatment contexts, the relationship between hearing and reading in hearing loss and dyslexia contexts

bill.hodgetts@ualberta.ca


Abram Hindle

Associate Professor, Computing Science, Faculty of Science

Research interests: computer music, sound synthesis, AI & sound, new interfaces for musical expression (NIME), music information retrieval, machine learning, power consumption analysis

abram.hindle@ualberta.ca


Mary Ingraham

Dean of Fine Arts, University of Lethbridge

Research interests: sound studies, listening, the materiality of experience, the role of sounds and media in cultural preservation and memory, histories of music in Canada, expressions of interculturality

finearts.dean@uleth.ca


Matina Kalcounis-Rueppell

Dean of Science, University of Alberta

Research interests: ultrasound; biology of acoustic communication in bats and mice; ecological, physiological, and anthropogenic effects on animal communication behaviors

dean.science@ualberta.ca


Michael Litwack

Assistant Professor, English & Film Studies, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: media theory, black cultural studies, critical race and ethnic studies, history of critical and cultural theory, genealogies of mediation and technology, post-humanisms

litwack@ualberta.ca


Torrey Loucks

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Chair, Institute for Stuttering Treatment and Research

Research interests: stuttering, speech production, speech fluency, neuroscience

loucks@ualberta.ca


Natalie Loveless

Associate Professor, History of Art, Design, and Visual Culture
Director, Research-Creation and Social Justice CoLABoratory
Co-Director, Faculty of Arts Signature Area in Research-Creation

Research interests: research-creation, soundwalking, deep listening, social and ecological justice.

nsl@ualberta.ca


Sean Luyk

Digital Projects Librarian, Digital Initiatives, University of Alberta Libraries

Research interests: digital audio, listening, multimedia repositories, music research data

sean.luyk@ualberta.ca


Elena Nicoladis

Professor, Psychology, Faculty of Science

Research interests: childhood language acquisition and development, bilingual language acquisition, the relationship between gesture and speech, relationship between language and thought

elenan@ualberta.ca


Michael O’Driscoll

Professor, English and Film Studies, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: critical and cultural theory, material culture studies, archive theory, intermedia studies, oral literary performance, literary sound objects, radical poetics

mo@ualberta.ca


Arlene Oak

Associate Professor, Dept. of Human Ecology, Faculty of ALES

Research interests: material culture and design studies with attention to the live, natural conversations that occur during the collaborative practices of design and making, the soundscapes of creative contexts (studios, workshops, construction sites), and the material culture and spatial environments of popular music.

aoak@ualberta.ca


Marilène Oliver

Assistant Professor, Art and Design, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: visual art, printmaking, sculpture, installation, medical imaging, meaningful transformations of data related to the body and identity, sonification, transformation of medical scan signals to sound

marilene@ualberta.ca


Scott Smallwood

Associate Professor, Music, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: visual art, printmaking, sculpture, installation, medical imaging, meaningful transformations of data related to the body and identity, sonification, transformation of medical scan signals to sound

scott.smallwood@ualberta.ca


Colleen Cassady St. Clair

Professor, Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science

Research interests: effects of anthropogenic noise on wildlife communication and health, sensory perceptions by wildlife of anthropogenic sounds as deterrents and as attractants, learned associations (e.g. cues or warnings) in complex landscapes

cstclair@ualberta.ca


Christopher Sturdy

Professor, Psychology, Faculty of Science

Research interests: comparative cognition, neuroethology, songbirds, perception, animal behavior, operant conditioning, bioacoustics

csturdy@ualberta.ca


Benjamin V. Tucker

Acting Director, Sound Studies Institute
Professor, Linguistics, Faculty of Arts

Research interests: phonetics, speech science, psycholinguistics, language documentation and revitalization

bvtucker@ualberta.ca